Home > Random > A Labovian Cartoon

A Labovian Cartoon


Ok, so I’ve had this idea bubbling around my head for a while, so here it is (click on picture for a larger version)… I fully accept that a) I’ve plagiarsed the style of XKCD, and b) I’m nowhere near as good an artist as Randall Munroe is. I should also say that probably only (socio?) linguists will get this…

If you get this, you've read Labov (1966)

The Social Linguist

Edit – The earlier version of this (if you caught it) was woeful, so thanks to Johnny Unger who put me on to the Comic Life software!

  1. January 10, 2012 at 9:04 pm

    Clearly a rhotic writer 😉
    As for programme, if you had mac I’d suggest Comic Life.

    • January 10, 2012 at 9:08 pm

      Haha, yes. I didn’t want to start using IPA in the speech, since it’s get unwieldy pretty quickly. I’ll have a look at comic life and see what it’s like.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

