Home > Random > End of Year Wrap Up

End of Year Wrap Up


As 2011 draws to a close, I thought that I would spend a bit of time going through the high and low lights of the past 12 months. It’s certainly been an up and down kind of year, but it’s always worthwhile thinking back on what went well and what didn’t. We’re sometimes so caught up on ‘what next?’ that we don’t spend a great deal of time thinking about ‘what happened?’.

So, onto the highlights!

  • Getting my first article published in Journal of Sociolinguistics
  • Putting together my first ever edited book proposal
  • Starting the blog
  • Getting a good amount of ‘media exposure’ (ugh, I hated even typing that…)
  • Climbing my first Munro
  • Getting short-listed for Fulbright interview
  • Starting British Military Fitness
  • Learning how to Moodle properly
  • Starting to get good ideas for research, particularly over the last six months
  • Hitting over a 1000 hits in one month on the blog

What about the lowlights?

  • Getting my first article rejection, not once, not twice, but thrice! So I abandoned the idea and wrote a brand new article. Huzzah!
  • Getting my first edited book proposal rejected by Edinburgh University Press (but it’s now under review by Palgrave, fingers crossed)
  • Getting rejected for my Bellagio application (notice a trend starting here?)
  • Semester 2 of last academic year. Late nights prepping, early mornings teaching, and partner on permanent night-shift don’t make for good times.
  • Getting a diary. Makes me feel old. And too responsible.
  • Trying to think of interesting topics for the blog. Seriously, to people who blog every day, how do you do it??
  • Entering the last year of my twenties…

Ok, so it looks like the pro list outweighs the con list, which can only be a good thing! It does feel like it’s been a packed year, and I’m sure there’s loads that I’ve not included in the above list. This is either a) the result of being too busy or b) direct evidence that my memory is failing. And I’m sure that 2012 will be even more packed, especially in the run up to (insert ominous sound here) REF.

Anyway, I’d like to thank everyone who has spend a few minutes reading my ramblings over the past six months, for all the positive comments I’ve received on twitter and here, and I hope that I’ll continue writing semi-interesting prose in 2012 that you’ll want to read!

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

The Social Linguist

Categories: Random Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

